Honky Cat

Elton John a Bernie Taupin

Honky Château (1972)

  1. Honky Cat (5:13)
  2. Mellow (5:32)
  3. Přeloženo do češtiny Think I'm Gonna Kill Myself (3:35)
  4. Přeloženo do češtiny Suzie (Dramas) (3:25)
  5. Rocket Man (4:45)
  6. Salvation (3:58)
  7. Slave (4:22)
  8. Amy (4:03)
  9. Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters (5:00)
  10. Hercules (5:20)

Text písně

When I look back,
boy, I must have been green,
boppin’ in the country,
fishin’ in a stream.

Lookin’ for an answer,
tryin’ to find a sign,
until I saw your city lights,
honey, I was blind.

They said, get back, Honky Cat,
better get back to the woods,
well, I quit those days and my redneck ways,
and oh, oh, oh, oh, the change is gonna do me good.

You better get back, Honky Cat,
livin’ in the city ain’t where it’s at.
It’s like tryin’ to find gold in a silver mine,
it’s like tryin’ to drink whisky from a bottle of wine.

Well I read some books, and I read some magazines
about those high class ladies
down in New Orleans,
and all the folks back home said I was a fool,
they said, believe in the Lord,
is the golden rule.

They said stay at home, boy, you gotta tend the farm,
livin’ in the city, boy,
is gonna break your heart.
But how can you stay, when your heart says no,
how can you stop,
when your feet say go.

(Zdroj: http://www.berniejtaupin.com…)

Kam dál?